Absent Memory

 

I took the letter you wrote me
Lit it on fire
And let the wind carry it
To the place
Where we shared
Whispered
Laughed
And lay
Between blades of grass
And blades
You used to cut
To rid yourself of the pain
You could never
Ever
Numb yourself of
When I placed my hands on your wounds
And on your heart
I tried to absorb your pain
But it wasn’t enough
For you to lose something
For me to gain

m.T

(Photo Credit: annstreetstudio.com)

Tags: , , ,

About My Write To Read

It would be difficult to imagine a world without influential writers who broke down barriers and turned complex ideas into eloquent masterpieces. I hope to become one of those writers someday. There is still a lot to learn as much as there is to write about, but I know my passion for putting thoughts and opinions on paper will help me flourish into an independent thinker and writer. Sometimes we often place ourselves outside of the world, oblivious of the effects of change, but as a writer I am striving to submerse myself into the events, catastrophes, and activities that are a part of every day, in order to understand why things are the way they are. The world is my artist and my canvas is this blog, and you? You are my audience, observer, critic, and valued reader. My Blog: https://mywritetoread.wordpress.com/

5 responses to “Absent Memory”

  1. wlouison says :

    Reblogged this on What If It All Means Something and commented:
    This has got to be one of My Write To Read’s best. A finest example of exemplary poetry (that’s a mouthful). It struck a few chords here, ripped some others there, and hit me where it counts. In the heart, that is. I guess I could have shortened this a little bit and just said: “Great poem! Check it out!” But, really, where’s the fun in that? Besides, I couldn’t rid you of my nonsensical rambling and not-so-funny, awkward humour, could I? At least I’m trying. And while I sit here and do that, you should go read that poem now. Don’t even finish reading what I’m writing. It’s definitely not worth your time. In fact, if I read this post on your blog, I’d ask for my money back.
    Just sayin’.
    Anyways, I’ve got a bed with my name it and a clock that is WAY too far ahead of me, so I’m ditching this blog (just for tonight, mind). I’ve got some ‘Zs’ to catch – for all the good that will do me – and you’ve got a poem to read.

  2. Wendell A. Brown says :

    I like the way your words come together…they speak volumes! Very nicely done!

  3. shanesbookblog says :

    wow! That is how “Absent Memory” and “A State of Mind” made me feel. You are fearless! I can see it so clearly,i only wish i had that ability. Your Poems shed light on the darkest places….a flashlight to guide Saint Michael the Archangels righteousness upon soul-less boundaries and deathly chilled glacier’s deep inside the worlds scariest crevasse. In other words…it truly blanketed my soul! So very powerful indeed. Your content is a necessity that I must have and i must be fed from time to time,so i subscribed most joyfully.

    When I read someones works or absorb whatever their passion is I always like to let them know how it made me feel…and sometimes to put that in words is most difficult. However to do it to your beautifully crafted poems was easy….they really are wondrous and fearless, I Hope to one day be as free and bone chillingly superb in the written word as you are. One can only Hope…but I am so glad i found your blog! -You have a new Fan for life-!

    Thanks for your opinion on my Poe piece, and Thanks for the complement! It made me smile like a baby laying eyes on a puppy for the first time.

    ~Shane

    • My Write To Read says :

      Shane, thank you for taking the time to read and share how you feel. It makes me very happy to hear that you enjoy my writing, so thank you for subscribing. As for you, keep writing and I’ll keep reading. You have a talent for writing. Don’t doubt yourself.

Leave a Reply

