A Heart Made of Holes

old hollywood

The promises we make
We often break
Sometimes even a promise we’ve made with ourselves
Don’t we?
Haven’t you?
Oh you fool
Who used her heart
And he used it too
To have it
Succumb
To a shriveled, decomposed state
Of mind
Over matter

I never counted my blessings
Only the cigarettes smoked
And the amount of times
You undressed me
Stripping me
Not of my clothes
But of me
Revealing my bare
Necessity
For a heart
You stole
Many years
Ago

Beneath my skin and bones
Is an empty cavity
That needs filling
Love willing
Without smoke
Which fills it now
From a cigarette
Tugging at the filter
Of what your mouth didn’t have
Of what it felt like
To tug at you
At your sleeve
Where I wanted you to wear your heart

And I loved him, I loved him
And now that love is gone
As courageous I have become
I was afraid that this would happen
I was afraid you’d blow all your kisses
Away
For someone else
And you have
When I had been saving mine
In the palm of my hand
Where you once held yours
In your soft hands
Unlike your heart

And you love her, you love her
And I had to imagine a life
Without you
Without her
Because it made me happy
Even though I was lying
In a bed
Which I have made
It’s happening
I have become this
What’s happened to me?
It’s better to forget
Ignorance is bliss

-m.T

(Photo Credit: http://www.annestreetstudio.com)

Tags: , , , ,

About My Write To Read

It would be difficult to imagine a world without influential writers who broke down barriers and turned complex ideas into eloquent masterpieces. I hope to become one of those writers someday. There is still a lot to learn as much as there is to write about, but I know my passion for putting thoughts and opinions on paper will help me flourish into an independent thinker and writer. Sometimes we often place ourselves outside of the world, oblivious of the effects of change, but as a writer I am striving to submerse myself into the events, catastrophes, and activities that are a part of every day, in order to understand why things are the way they are. The world is my artist and my canvas is this blog, and you? You are my audience, observer, critic, and valued reader. My Blog: https://mywritetoread.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

