Letter to a Man in a Suit

Dear Sir:

I like words. I much prefer them in poetry, in songs, in stories. This is where words live beautifully and safely. They grow happy together and we, we grow fond of them. I don’t know what happened to words. When they became ugly. When we stopped believing in them and in their beauty. The words, which roll off our tongues and are formed by our tender lips strike, impose, and come with malicious intent. Often words tend to lose their beauty, especially in conversations between two people, who discuss hatred and cruelty.

I couldn’t help but overhear your conversation in which words reflected catastrophe. You spoke those words loudly. Why did you? Words, which are beautiful, must be spoken with pride, for everyone to hear. Not words which are brutal and destructive. When did it become apparent to you to use such words so openly? I suppose you have no idea what it’s like to be betrayed by words. To have them used against you. To be pinned up against the wall and forced to hear them; your mouth covered from speaking words in defense.

In ill repute, I write this letter to you. Everything has been shed above. Perhaps reading them will do more justice than hearing them. I fear that defensive words, which are spoken, sometimes do not do justice. They are said and then they flutter away into dismay. Words, which are spoken ferociously and not gracefully, sometimes lose their importance. I have choked on your words and have wanted to throw them up. They made me feel ill; however, what those words mean to me will eventually fade away, as do the effects on a person. I have learned not to allow disgusting words, like the ones you have spoken, to impose on the beauty language can be. I do have one request: in the future, please do not taint them with anger, violence, and humiliation. If you so choose to, please confine them to your mind and not to the open world. Words are meant to be beautiful. Seek beauty in words instead.

Sincerely,

A disgruntled listener

-m.T

Tags: , , , , ,

About My Write To Read

It would be difficult to imagine a world without influential writers who broke down barriers and turned complex ideas into eloquent masterpieces. I hope to become one of those writers someday. There is still a lot to learn as much as there is to write about, but I know my passion for putting thoughts and opinions on paper will help me flourish into an independent thinker and writer. Sometimes we often place ourselves outside of the world, oblivious of the effects of change, but as a writer I am striving to submerse myself into the events, catastrophes, and activities that are a part of every day, in order to understand why things are the way they are. The world is my artist and my canvas is this blog, and you? You are my audience, observer, critic, and valued reader. My Blog: https://mywritetoread.wordpress.com/

4 responses to “Letter to a Man in a Suit”

  1. drewdog2060drewdog2060 says :

    I can relate to your post. I have sometimes sat in my favourite local pub hearing apparently respectable people spewing forth the most apalling diatrabes against black and other ethnic minority groups. It makes me angry as these are the kind of views which if, taken to their logical conclusion can lead to the concentration camp and the gas chamber. People who voice such views have problems which instead of dealing with they choose to disregard and blame others for their own inner demons.

    • My Write To Read says :

      I believe most people can relate to this post. I certainly hope that it would never come to that. I believe there are too many people who love and who believe in morality, liberty, human rights and human dignity to ever let that happen again. People who discuss others in hateful ways wear their ignorance proudly; however, it is the educated, moral and loving people who have the last laugh because we are aware how sad and stupid they sound. This post was about a man who was openly discussing a woman in a derogatory way. I was faced with a challenge. Do I speak up and share my views or do I say nothing? It was a challenging moment. A part of me couldn’t sit there and be an enabler by allowing him to carry on with his banter and then a part of me was afraid to speak up. In the past I’ve shared my views with the culturally ignorant (for lack of better words) and it’s escalated into a heated argument. I don’t say debate because intelligent individuals debate. When it’s with a sexist, racist or prejudice person, it’s an argument I was in a professional environment so I decided to keep my words to myself. Instead I wrote this post. Maybe it will find it’s way in his mailbox one day. Thank you for your sharing your experience.

  2. Nicholas Gagnier says :

    This is great 🙂

Leave a Reply

