Wry, Wry Writing with Saw, Saw Sounds

With music and words intertwined, James Joyce’s “Sirens” of Ulysses is undeniably a virtuous work of art. It portrays an effortless array of music and literature that not only speaks to the reader but also sings to the reader. Among other things, Joyce brings out the inter-connectedness of literature and music with interesting characters, figurative language, and intonation as its central and most important effort in transforming language into a musical composition of words. “Sirens” is intended to challenge one’s perception of language by de-familiarizing the reader with words, syntax, and meaning and is a very musical chapter intended to capture sounds in language. Essentially, Joyce reveals that through the association of language and music, meaning becomes secondary.  These two examples below outline how words are intended to allow the reader to hear rather than just see.

“…Follow. Risk it. Go quick. At four. Near now. Out.” (Page 339)

“Horn. Have you the? Horn. Have you the? Haw haw horn.” (Page 347)

Joyce magically transforms language into music and although he is challenging the reader’s perception of language, he has effectively shown that it is possible to create music with words. So in honor of Joyce I thought I’d take a stab at turning words into music. It was harder than I thought. It may be the worst thing I have ever written and Joyce is probably rolling in his grave. I’m apologizing in advance Mr. Joyce.

Coffee Shop Injuries

“Can I. Can I help you? Coffee? Can I help you?” asked the curious lady at the counter.

“Double double on the double. Cup. Coffee. Cream. Cream. Sugar. Sugar. Double double on the double,” the customer replied.

“Coffee comes in cups. Calm calm your coffee nerves. A double double is on the double. Coffee quickly, quickly coming.”

Clink. Cling. Clang. Clang. Cling. Clink. Broom. Bap. Broom.

Clink! “Haha here you go go drink the double double on the double.”

“Sip sap sip. Ahh haha how hot. Drinking double doubles haha hurt my tall tale tongue.”

“See saw see? My, my drinking double doubles on the double double. Trouble trouble. Careful careful,” she replied.

“Thaw, thaw, thank you. I’ll be careful to due dumb duh drink slowly surely. Now my tall tale tongue can’t cooperate casually with content because of the holy hot cup of coffee. I wish I weren’t washing words with wish washy silly sounds. I need to leave leap leave to sew some sentences together. By then I may spa speak no numb normally. See you so so soon.”

I think that’s enough writing with intonation for one day. I think you’d agree.

-m.T

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About My Write To Read

It would be difficult to imagine a world without influential writers who broke down barriers and turned complex ideas into eloquent masterpieces. I hope to become one of those writers someday. There is still a lot to learn as much as there is to write about, but I know my passion for putting thoughts and opinions on paper will help me flourish into an independent thinker and writer. Sometimes we often place ourselves outside of the world, oblivious of the effects of change, but as a writer I am striving to submerse myself into the events, catastrophes, and activities that are a part of every day, in order to understand why things are the way they are. The world is my artist and my canvas is this blog, and you? You are my audience, observer, critic, and valued reader. My Blog: https://mywritetoread.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

