Enjoying the Simple Pleasures and the Not-So-Simple Pleasures While Writing

Listening to music while writing is a simple pleasure, as long as it’s not corny 80’s music or Ke$ha- then it’s dreadful.

 

 

 

 

 

You heard her. Writing gets done a lot quicker when there’s coffee involved. When I’m writing on empty everyone knows to steer clear of me. I need coffee. My writing needs coffee.

 

 

 

It’s that golden moment when an ingenious idea pops up in your head and you’re half in the bag. Waking up the next morning with your face on the floor and a ridiculous story saved on your computer may be a sign that you’ve seen better days. Not so clever after all. Don’t drink and write. On second thought, why not? You might have a good laugh and it may be the one thing you don’t regret.

 

 

 

We’ve all been there. We’ve all been maddened by an ice cream craving.  There are those that crave ice cream when they’re on a diet and then there are those that crave ice cream when they’re writing. I’ve been both. Writing and ice cream don’t mix. Unless you have a drool guard. I don’t. My paper always ends up soggy.

 

 

 

 

Looks refreshing doesn’t it? Your lap top doesn’t think so. Neither did mine a year ago. Writing and water don’t mix, especially when you’re clumsy like me.

 

 

 

 

Blowing bubbles. This one gets me every time. Ever end up with gum stuck to your paper? It’s not fun to peel off. But it’s fun to blow bubbles

 

 

 

 

No one likes a crier. No one likes witnessing a crier while writing. Shit is weird.

 

 

 

 

 

Windy days and writing…two words: stay inside. It only took one time for me to learn my lesson. Let me tell you, it’s not fun to chase your work after it’s taken flight. As you can see, it wasn’t a good day for this guy <-

 

 

 

 

Seriously? Writing next to a fire? You’re just asking for it. Next.

 

 

 

 

 

Riding a bike while writing sounds like fun…until someone gets hurt.

 

 

 

 

 

Writing in a moving car = car sickness. It’s a recipe for disaster. No one likes the backseat of their car decorated in your vomit.

 

 

 

 

 

She may be smiling but you won’t be. Talking on the phone and writing don’t mix. Take it from me. This one time I tried to do both at once and ended up with bits and pieces of the conversation I just had in an essay I was writing.

 

 

 

Writing near loud talkers is like hearing nails on a chalkboard. Ughh get them away from me!

 

 

 

And of course when all else fails…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

-m.T

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About My Write To Read

It would be difficult to imagine a world without influential writers who broke down barriers and turned complex ideas into eloquent masterpieces. I hope to become one of those writers someday. There is still a lot to learn as much as there is to write about, but I know my passion for putting thoughts and opinions on paper will help me flourish into an independent thinker and writer. Sometimes we often place ourselves outside of the world, oblivious of the effects of change, but as a writer I am striving to submerse myself into the events, catastrophes, and activities that are a part of every day, in order to understand why things are the way they are. The world is my artist and my canvas is this blog, and you? You are my audience, observer, critic, and valued reader. My Blog: https://mywritetoread.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

